Finding God in Stories: “Sleeping Beauty”

Hey there!  Welcome to the first “Finding God in Stories” entry!  Feel free to read on what this is all about here.

The first example I chose is Disney’s Sleeping Beauty:

On one trip to Disneyland, I was in the Sleeping Beauty walk-through in the castle when a sudden clarity about the story came over me, leaving me so excited I could hardly walk.  Sleeping Beauty is, essentially, almost exactly the same as our lives.

There is a princess born to royalty and greatly blessed–as humanity was born to perfection.  No matter how hard people tried to keep this princess from doing the one thing that would lead to her death–from sinning–there came a point where the choice was completely up to her.  In that moment, with voices screaming at her to touch the spindle and to not touch anything, she chose to listen to the destroyer’s voice–just as so often, we end up choosing sin.  Her choice lead to her apparently endless, hopeless sleep–just as our sin leads to death, spiritually and physically.

But though the situation seems hopeless, all is not lost, for Princess Aurora is loved by Prince Phillip.  Phillip fights and defeats Malificent–as Jesus won victory over Satan and even over death through His death and resurrection.  Victorious, he ran to his beloved, and his love brought her back to life–just as Jesus’s grace, His gift of love, gives us life, and life more abundantly.

Reunited, Phillip and Aurora wore their love for all to see–the courtship of Jesus and His Church–and they lived happily ever after–even as we will when His kingdom is finally firmly established on this earth.

How beautiful is that!!

“My beloved spoke and said to me,
‘Arise, my darling,
my beautiful one, come with me.
See! The winter is past;
the rains are over and gone.
Flowers appear on the earth;
the season of singing has come,
the cooing of doves
is heard in our land.
The fig tree forms its early fruit;
the blossoming vines spread their fragrance.
Arise, come, my darling;
my beautiful one, come with me.”

~Song of Songs 2:10-13

Please share your thoughts :)

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

